Revised US travel ban delists Iraq

US President Donald Trump is expected to sign the new order on Wednesday (© Gage Skidmore).

Iraq will be removed from the list of countries whose citizens will be affected by the US travel ban, anonymous officials told The Associated Press on Tuesday.

The anonimity is due to lack of authorisation to discuss the new immigration order which President Donald Trump is expected to sign in the coming days.

The new revised immigration order will make all travel bans, including that of Syrian citizens, temporary and not include any dispensation for religious minorities, for example Christians, of the now six affected countries of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Pressure has forced the White House to delist Iraq, an important ally in the war against the Islamic State (IS), the sources said.

Commentators have added that Baghdad’s prominent role in fighting IS in Mosul and also energy resources had been decisive factors in the change. Critics have weighed in saying the move proves that the decision was political and not security-related.

US green card and visa holders, initially blocked by the US government, will not be affected by the revised order.