Trump signs revised travel ban, Iraq exempt

(© Gage Skidmore)

US President Donald Trump has signed a revised travel ban. The new ban, no longer including Iraq, will prevent entry of refugees for 90 days and take effect on 16 March. Visa holders are exempted from the ban.

Affected by the ban are citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. While Syria is still on the list, the country is no longer singeled out as a particular case.

The first controversial ban was blocked by several US courts.

Iraq’s Foreign Ministry expressed “deep satisfaction” over the revised order considering it “an important step in the right direction that strengthens the strategic alliance between Baghdad and Washington in a number of fields, especially fighting terrorism,” spokesman Ahmed Jamal said.